Guto Bebb MP

Member of Parliament for Aberconwy

Born at Wrexham in 1968, Guto has roots throughout north Wales with his family hailing from Bangor and Blaenau Ffestiniog. Having attended three primary schools Guto was educated at Ysgol Syr Hugh Owen and the University of Wales, Aberystwyth. Guto has been self-employed since 1993 running his own Economic Development Consultancy in addition to being the Business Development Director of Innovas Wales. He was also, for eight years, a partner in his wife's bookshop.

His political interests includes the economy, rural development and regeneration policy, taxation and the impact of the poverty trap on potential start-up businesses. He also has real concerns about the quality and depth of our state education system. Guto is also passionately interested in European and International issues having been a member of the Council of Business for Sterling in Wales and a member of the 'I Want a Referendum Campaign'.

Guto is married to Esyllt and they have five children. In his spare time he is an avid reader, record collector and enjoys spending time with the family.

Guto's Experience

Guto has a wealth of hands-on experience in relation to the challenges facing small businesses in a rural and peripheral economy. He has, over the past fifteen years been involved with small businesses on a daily basis whilst also responsible for some of the most innovative and creative projects to have been funded by European Structural Funds here in Wales.

The over-dependence of the economy of Wales, and north west Wales in particular, on the public sector is a cause of concern and alarm and Guto's involvement in politics is, to an extent, driven by the need to change the public sector dependency culture that stifles enterprise and acts as a barrier to enterprise here in Wales.

On a political level Guto achieved a substantial swing in favour of the Conservative Party at both the 2003 Assembly Election in Conwy and the 2005 General Election campaign.

Guto was elected to Parliament in 2010 and was re-elected in May 2015 with a majority of 3,999 votes.