Lord Bourne of Aberystwyth

Lord Bourne was appointed joint Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Wales Office on 27 October 2017. He held this role jointly with his Parliamentary Under Secretary of State role at the Department for Communities and Local Government, which he started on 17 July 2016, until he left the UK Government in July 2019.

He has been a member of the Lords since September 2013.

He previously served as Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for the Department of Energy and Climate Change and as a Lord in Waiting from May 2015 until July 2016.

He was appointed Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for the Wales Office in May 2015.

From 2014 to 2015 he was a Lords Whip (2014 to 2015) responsible for the Wales Office, the Department for International Development, the Department for Work and Pensions and the broadcasting elements of the Department for Culture, Media and Sport portfolio.

Lord Bourne was Assembly Member for Mid & West Wales from 1999 to 2011 and Leader of the Opposition in the National Assembly for Wales between 2007 and 2011. He was also a member of the Silk Commission.


See Also

Byron Davies, Lord Davies of Gower

Byron Davies, the Chairman of the Welsh Conservative Party, is the former MP for Gower and the first Conservative to represent Gower, having won the seat from Labour for the first time in 109 years.